Local Development Districts

The NBRC Federal-State partnership is aided by a group of regional organizations called Local Development Districts (LDD's) that assist the NBRC in its outreach activities and administer NBRC investments for grantees.  LDD's provide feedback to the Commission on its current programs as well as assist in identifying future areas of focus for the Commission.  LDD's are either an already existing federally designated Economic Development District, as certified by the US Economic Development Administration or an organization similar in nature to a regional planning commission.

LDD's are knowledgeable about other Federal and State programs that help fund economic and community development projects. They are aware of local concerns as most engage in regional economic development planning of varying degrees.  

LDD Grant Administration

All LDDs have been certified by the NBRC as being proficient in administering Commission funds for grantees.  In order to compensate the LDDs for that administrative work, grant administrative fees will be paid from the awarded funds. The formula for determining project administration fees is 5% of the first $100,000 awarded and 1% of all dollars in excess of $100,000. By example, a $250,000 award would include $6,500 in LDD project administration fees, thereby making $243,500 available for the purpose of the award. 

To Find Your LDD
  • NBRC's Local Developement Districts are listed below with the counties and municipalities they cover.
  • The NBRC has created an online mapping resource to assist applicants to identify their Local Development Districts. Once there, click "Details" in the upper left hand corner for easy-to-use instructions on manipulating the map.  

Maine's Local Development Districts

           (207) 453-4258 or ctyson@kvcog.org

New Hampshire's Local Development Districts
  • North Country Council
    Website: www.nccouncil.org
    Regional Plan: NCC Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
    NBRC Coverage Area: All of Coos County. The Grafton County municipalities of Plymouth, Groton, Campton, Rumney, Wentworth, Warren, Ellsworth, Thornton, Waterville Valley, Livermore, Lincoln, Woodstock, Benton, Haverhill, Bath, Landaff, Easton, Franconia, Sugar Hill, Lisbon, Lyman, Monroe, Littleton, and Bethlehem.  All the unorganized areas of Carroll County as well as the municipalities of Jackson, Chatham, Bartlett, Conway, Albany, Madison, and Eaton. 
    Contact: Michele Moren-Grey, Senior Economic Development Planner
    (603) 444-6303 or mmoren@nccouncil.org
  • Upper Valley Lake Sunapee Regional Planning Commission
    Website: www.uvlsrpc.org
    Regional Plan: UVLSRPC Regional Plan
    NBRC Coverage Area: All of Sullivan County as well as the Grafton County municipalities of Piermont, Orford, Lyme, Dorchester, Hanover, Canaan, Orange, Lebanon, Enfield, and Grafton. 
    Contact: Adam Ricker, Assistant Planner
    (603) 448-1680 or aricker@uvlsrpc.org
  • Lakes Region Planning Commission
    Website: www.lakesrpc.org
    Regional Plan: The Lakes Region Plan
    NBRC Coverage Area: The Grafton County municipalities of Holderness, Ashland, Bridgewater, Bristol, Hebron, and Alexandria.  The Carroll County municipalities of Sandwich, Moultonborough, Tamworth, Tuftonboro, Wolfeboro, Ossipee, Effingham, and Freedom. 
    Contact: Jeff Hayes, Executive Director
    (603) 279-5334 or jhayes@lakesrpc.org
  • Strafford Regional Planning Commission
    Website: www.strafford.org
    NBRC Coverage Area:  The Carroll County municipalities of Wakefield and Brookfield
    Contact: Cynthia Copeland, Executive Director
    (603) 994-3500 or cjc@strafford.org

Vermont's Local Development District
  • Northern Vermont Economic Development District
    Website: www.nvedd.org
    NBRC Coverage Area: Caledonia, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, and Orleans counties
    c/o Northwest Regional Planning Commission
    Contact: Greta Brunswick, Senior Planner
    (802) 524-5958 or gbrunswick@nrpcvt.com

New York's Local Development Districts

A listing of Local Development Districts around the Country can be found at the websites of our sister Commissions: the Delta Regional Authority and the Appalachian Regional Commission